Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Right to Life And Liberty Clause

1. Right to Life And Liberty Clause

Dear All,
    Outline: I am a 27 years old engineer based in <st1><st1:city w:st="on">Bangalore</st1:city></st1> and my wife is a German citizen. We got married in <st1><st1:city w:st="on">Bangalore </st1:city></st1> under Special Marriage Act and thereafter get my Marriage Certificate
    Attested as per Hague Convention and modified my passport to include my spouse name. Now my wife is in<st1> <st1:state w:st="on">Hamburg</st1:state></st1> and trying to get an entry visa. The Indian Consulate at <st1><st1:state w:st="on">Hamburg</st1:state></st1> had directed
    Us to contact Ministry of Home Affairs, <st1><st1:city w:st="on">New Delhi</st1:city></st1>, where I gave a representation on behalf of her and was told that MHA will direct the Hamburg embassy to give visa to my wife and son.
    But since then several days have elapsed and nothing has moved.

In this circumstance, I am planning to send RTI requests to Ministry of Home Affairs and Ministry of External Affairs asking them the status of my wife and son's visa.

Now, I was thinking that whether I can seek information under right to life and liberty clause as I think right to live a family life with wife and son has been implicitly given to Indian Citizens under Article 21 of Indian Constitution.
    But during my online research I found that there are instances in which authorities interpret the Life and Liberty in true meaning of the word..Like Life means to them your biological life...and going by their line of reasoning "my life is not under any imminent danger due to forceful separation from my family by the Indian Government"..But then judiciary has extended Article 21 in some landmark cases...

So, in this case I seek help from the members to tell me whether my right to live a family life comes under Right To Life and Liberty clause?

Regards
    http://asubject.wordpress.com

Name:
    C J Karira