Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: SEBI and FII data; question regarding what to post on this site relating to frustrating RTI experience.

Name:
    Murgie Krishnan
    Blog Entries
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    5 Post(s)

SEBI and FII data; question regarding what to post on this site relating to frustrating RTI experience.

Dear All:

I am a newbie to this site, so am not sure what to post and share on this forum relating to my (so far frustrating) RTI experiences. In what follows I am giving some details about one experience, and can post more based on what feedback I get.

I am an academic with a research interest in Indian financial markets, for which much of my data has come from the National Stock Exchange (which now makes available, at nominal cost, enormous detail relating to STALE DATA, to support academic research).

SEBI currently makes publicly available aggregate FII data on a daily basis but only about the aggregate across all exchange-traded scrips. For many meaningful research questions it would be more useful to have a little more detail -- this data broken down by each exchange-traded scrip. So in one RTI request to SEBI I sought STALE FII DATA broken down by exchange-traded scrip. It was rejected on grounds that to me seem incredibly frivolous (e.g. "invasion of privacy", when we're only asking for the aggregate to be broken down by each exchange-listed scrip, and not by each FII, or each trade; "market-sensitive" when all we're asking for is STALE data like the kind that NSE provides).