Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Five sworn in as Haryana Information Commissioner

  1. #1

    Five sworn in as Haryana Information Commissioner

    Haryana Governor, Dr. A.R. Kidwai administered the oath of office to five Information Commissioners in a simple but impressive ceremony at Raj Bhawan here on Thursday.

    While talking to the mediapersons the Chief Information Commissioner, Mr. G. Madhavan said that as many as 1500 cases had been received by the Commission so far and penalty in 16 cases had been imposed varing from Rs. 1000 to Rs. 6000 to provide relief to the litigants as the information was not provided to the litigants well in time.

    Madhavan said that after the formation of office of the Chief Information Commissioner(CIC), the people were coming forward to seek information under the Right to Information Act. Transparency is being maintained and the cases are being disposed of on priority . He said that there were total 11 posts in the Commission including the CIC.
    At present, the strength of the Commission has risen to seven including the CIC. Senior IAS officer (Retd.) Mrs. Asha Sharma who has been appointed as Information Commissioner belongs to 1970 batch of IAS and worked with the State Government and Government of India in various capacities. She retired on February 28, 2007 as Financial Commissioner and Principal Secretary, Agriculture Department, Haryana.

    Lt. General (Retd.) J.B.S. Yadav born on 1945 in village Achina in Bhiwani district and he got the Commission in the Army in 1964 and retired as Deputy Chief of the Army in 2005 after distinguished service of 40 years.
    Ashok Mehta born on December 6, 1961 and passed his M.A., LL.B degree. He had also practised in District Court, Ambala and Punjab and Haryana High Court. He also remained Senior Vice-President, Ambala District Congress Committee (Rural) since 2001 and Vice-President District Bar Association, Ambala in 1993-94.

    While talking to the mediapersons he said that the Right to Information Act 2005 had been implemented in the State with a view to bring transparancy.

    Newly appointed Information Commissioner, Mr. M.R. Ranga born on February 1, 1966 village Chandli and passed his LL.B. from Delhi University, Delhi. He started his practice in 1992 and worked as lawyer at District Court, Jhajjar and Rohtak. He also remained the Secretary of Haryana Kisan Janhit Manch.

    Premvir Singh born on March 24, 1951 in village Karontha district Rohtak. He did his schooling from Birla Public School, Pilani and Sainik School, Kunjpura. He had served the Birla Group about 20 years. He had visited China, Hongkong and remained Vice President of Aditya Birla Group Overseas Company for 10 years posted at Beijing.

    Those who were inducted as Information Commissioner included former IAS officer Mrs. Asha Sharma, Lt. General (Retd.) J.B.S. Yadav, Mr. Ashok Mehta, Mr. M.R. Ranga and Mr. Premvir Singh. The Haryana Chief Minister, Mr. Bhupinder Singh Hooda, Finance Minister, Mr. Birender Singh, Agriculture Minister, Mr. Harmohinder Singh Chatha, Education Minister, Mr. Mange Ram Gupta, Parliamentary Secretaries Dr. Krishna Pandit and Ms. Sharda Rathore, Chief Secretary, Mrs. Promilla Issar, Principal Secretary to Chief Minister, Mr. M.L. Tayal and senior officers of State Government also graced the oath taking ceremony.

    CHANDIGARH: Thursday, 03 January 2008 - Five sworn in as Haryana Information Commissioner

  2. #2
    jagjeet kumar sharma
    Rep Power

    Re: Five sworn in as Haryana Information Commissioner

    RTI is only tool to correct any wrong doings


    RTI INDIA: Invoking Your Rights. We provide easy ways to request, analyze & share Government documents by use of Right to Information and by way of community support.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook Apple App Store Google Play for Android