Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: RTI losing its teeth in Uttar Pradesh?

1. RTI losing its teeth in Uttar Pradesh?

Hi,

I'm an architect from Delhi. When a couple of my clients started behaving strangely and started playing tricks, I needed to approach Greater Noida Industrial Development Authority [GNIDA]for information I needed so that I could make my clients fall in line and compensate me for the services I had given them. After a few visits to the GNIDA when I was not able to get the information I was looking for, I was more than convinced that GNIDA was hand in glove with my clients and I would have to file an RTI application to get the information.

I filed two separate applications [for two separate cases]way back in March 2007. In response to one of the application, GNIDA provided information [which were evasive incorrect and incomplete] on an undated plain sheet of paper unauthenticated by the official entrusted for providing information.

In the other case, GNIDA never bothered to respond to my other RTI application for well over 60 days.

I brought the matters to the notice of the Uttar Pradesh State Chief Information Commissioner [UPSCIC], who after hearing my plea:

1. Ordered the PIO/ CEO of GNIDA to depose before the Commission. The CEO/ PIO never bothered to appear.

2.The UPSCIC issued fresh orders to the CEO/ PIO GNIDA to appear before the commission and warned the CEO/ PIO that in case the CEO/ PIO failed to represent GNIDA, in person, it would be assumed that GNIDA had nothing to say in defense and punishment awarded.