Topic Identifier

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Whom to Ask the Question?Please help me.

Whom to Ask the Question?Please help me.

I am a student in IIT Kanpur.
    I want to start up a bussiness for digital currency Exchange(as part time).
    Example of Digital Currencies - egold,Libertyreserve,Paypal,MoneyBookers.

Actually problem is that on 21 Nov 2002, a newpaper "BussinessLine" has published this piece of information.
    Sorry cannot post the URL.Please check by typing "egold illegal india" in google.

The summary of this report is "Use of `e-gold' in any transaction is violative of current regulations in force in India. Members of the public, banks, money-changers and other financial institutions are, therefore, cautioned against the use of `e-gold' as a currency in their transactions." This is said by RBI.

I have searched on RBI official website and Indian Penal Code website.Niether of them make even a single note of it.Even the RBI press notification section doesn't have any mention of it.

Now I want to file a RTI to find out whether it is legal to buy/sell/exchange these digital currencies within India or not.

WHOM SHOULD I ADDRESS MY QUESTION?
    RBI?
    If RBI, then who is the PIO?
    I am completely unknown with RTI and found it too informative on RTI official website.

Please tell me-
    1)Whom should I address the question?
    2)What to write in RTI application?
    3)Who is PIO?
    4)What is the mode of payment acceptable to them?

Can any body help me out?It will be a heavenly gift to me!!!!!!!

Name:
    C J Karira
    Blog Entries

Re: Whom to Ask the Question?Please help me.

Navneet,

1. You can adress your RTI Application to:

Chief Public Information Officer (CPIO)

Shri V.S.Das
    Executive Director
    Reserve Bank of India
    Central Office,
    Mumbai – 400 001 022-2262 1382 022 – 2267 9095 cpiorbi@rbi.org.in

Alternate CPIO

Shri H.N.Prasad
    Principal Chief General Manager
    Reserve Bank of India
    Central Office,