Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: few burning aspects of RTI

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

few burning aspects of RTI

Respected sir;
    I am a student and presently pursuing Economics in my UG course.
    I wanted to about some burning questions on RTI. I wd be oblized if you can find
    the questions worthy and give yr feedback in full detail:

(a):how to create awareness about RTI among all levels of the society(i.e from
    humble ones to middle man to rich society)?Give some pts and steps that need to
    taken to make it reachable to each one.(like.advertising or...)

(b)And How can we make our RTI powerful and effective ?i.e. what measures we sd take
    so that we make sure that those practising wrong are virtually trapped?

(
    </pre>

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I think this is very pertinent question but not with simple answer. When in our Indian society we are still not able to percolate the 2 drops campaign for pulse polio with so much of media involvement, WHO, international funding, its really hard to see RTI reaching to full masses in the coming time.

However, NGO, Media can all help to narrow the gap.

RTI will not be actually trapping people, but making them more accountable and transparent. Every govt orgaization will know that people are watching and will act responsibly.

As the trend is people are using RTI to get their work done, rather then exposing or asking for 'public interest'. There need to be some body from within the Govt. who knows what is going on in the department in details, and they should be given the onus to ask the question.

Also any decision taken should be on web, or open at a place. Why should somebody go and ask the information. If the information is not classified there is no need to let people ask and then the department replies.